Crewe testimonials

We are continuously looking for ways to improve our services and we value our customers feedback; here are a selection of testimonials received:

  • A very dear friend was a resident in Royal Scot House for nearly two years. It was very much a house with the residents receiving excellent care in a friendly setting. Every member of staff was friendly and caring. My friend was treated with love and respect and her every care need was met. I was always welcomed when I visited and I was kept up to date with all aspect of her management. I was rung at home if there were any changes in her care and her condition. Her room was always clean and tidy and when I was there at that time I noted how thorough they were. Unfortunately, my friend wasn’t able to participate in the activities but the carers encouraged her as much as possible within her wishes. If she had arrived before she reached the point she was at, she would have loved everything offered by Belong.

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk from Pauline W (Friend of Resident) published on 14 November 2019

  • I think the staff are all amazing. They are all so thoughtful and patient. They get to know the residents very quickly and their individual needs. I have total peace of mind that my parents are in the best place. I love the layout of the village and the freedom in each household that the residents have. It is very homely.

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk from J B (Daughter of Resident) published on 6 November 2019

  • From the moment I came to Britannia House, emotionally upset about my sister becoming a resident, the staff of Britannia have been fantastic. The care, patience, love and support for my sister has been nothing short of wonderful. Additionally, they gave me lots of support and hugs as well. It is so great that the same team members look after the residents in the household. Once my sister told me that she liked this hotel and had made new friends. Such a great place.

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk from J S (Sister of Resident) published on 6 November 2019

  • For the past 3 or so years, Patriot House has looked after my mother and have been brilliant. My mother soon realised that she was loved here, safe and extremely well looked after. Unfortunately, we were called across from Australia as my mother was approaching the end of life. Thankfully we were able to spend just over four weeks with my mother before she passed. During those four weeks, all staff (throughout Belong) have been excellent and I could not have wished for any better treatment for both my wife and I, and my mother. You guys are all angels and we cannot thank you enough.

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk from S H (Son of Resident) published on 29 October 2019

  • Dad came to Belong, Crewe 9 months ago and as a family, we have been extremely pleased. We have found peace of mind since he has been here. The care the staff on Royal Scot give is wonderful, they treat Dad as a real person, giving real love. Dad had had carers before he came here who only spent the minimal amount of time possible doing the job rather than acknowledging the person. Being here has resulted in dad showing his personality, lifting depression. They have also made family and friends welcome. We are able to phone and speak with him whenever we wish. There are lots of varied activities provided by a super activities team. He has also been fortunate in participating in the Blue Coat's Art project looking at arts and dementia which is excellent. We must not forget the lady who puts Dad through his exercises and, along with the staff on Royal Scot, she keeps him moving. Thank you to all the staff at Belong for making Dad so welcome and loving him for who he is. You are stars.

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk from S B on 8 August 2019

  • What do you want to do when you move to a care home? Walk your daughter down the aisle after 3 years in a wheelchair? Ride the world's fastest zip wire? Maybe breakfast in bed and a long lie-in is your preference? No problem! At Belong the staff work hard to make sure you are able to do what you want. After going to Experience Days my wife moved in for a short break. Due to dementia, our own home had become a scary place. After 3 days she asked if she could stay "I'm happy here, it feels like home". So she (and I) were welcomed into the household "family". She enjoyed every minute of her stay. Care is first-rate with exceptional staff and a nurse on duty all of the time, but Belong goes beyond that to ensure people live a full and happy life. Village activities run all day and household activities happen spontaneously. Some areas are open to the public so the village feels lively. Just call in at the Bistro and feel the atmosphere. One Belong even gets 5* ratings on Tripadvisor!

    Review submitted to Carehome.co.uk from David H (Husband of Resident) submitted on 1 August 2019

  • On 2 June 2019, my mum (88 years) was admitted into Belong after her health deteriorated over a period of 6 weeks after being discharged from hospital. She was in a deep depression and had no interest in anything. Mentally and physically, she could no longer be left on her own and was in need of 24-hour care. A neighbour recommended Belong Crewe. We both visited it and were very impressed by the professionalism and standards of the home. After six weeks of mum's stay, we cannot believe the progress she has made. She is happy and comfortable and put a little weight on (much needed). Clearly, this is due to the manager and his outstanding care team in Coronation House. They are genuinely caring and professional. My brother and I have peace of mind that mum has been the best care and attention possible.

    Review from Angela T (Daughter of Resident) submitted to Carehome.co.uk on 11 July 2019

  • An absolute fantastic facility and the experience days have been a lifeline to my dad (who suffers from dementia) and our family. We could not have been made to feel more welcome with amazing staff who go over and above on every level. The care and stimulation provided, as well as the activities on offer are superb. I would recommend this place to anyone.

    Submitted to Carehome.co.uk By: Lindsay K

  • "I have found Belong Crewe to be almost flawless. I live in America and my mother in Crewe. She started by attending experience days every Wednesday, then got a flat, and then moved into one of the households. At every step everyone has been enormously helpful, both to my mother and to me, they go beyond and above what we want, are incredibly professional, clean, well-mannered. The place has a wonderful feel to it and everyone pitches in to create a well-oiled machine. I thoroughly, unreservedly recommend it."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk by Nigel B (Son of Resident)

  • "Belong Crewe has an amazing staff. They have been caring for our mum for almost a year in a totally professional and efficient manner. Just as important, they are loving, kind and very generous with their time and energy. We have watched them deal with some very tricky situations with grace and class and are grateful for everything they do for mum."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk by S A B (Daughter-in-law of Resident)

  • "Have been coming to Belong for almost a year and find the experience warm and friendly. Everyone is very helpful and caring. The moment you enter through the front door the warmth and professionalism envelopes like a hug."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk by Tina R (Friend of Resident)

  • "My father has always been treated with respect and given stimulation relating to his interests, even when he attended experience days for many years, prior to becoming a resident. This aided his adjustment to staying and also the friendly, welcoming staff already knew him. The standard of care is excellent, high standard of dementia care, homely atmosphere. The staff of all levels are helpful, approachable and nothing is too much trouble. They offer a second home to relatives, encouraging a family feeling throughout the clean, well laid out home, supported by the many thoughtful activities for everyone to join in. I cannot recommend Belong Crewe enough, it is like a four-star hotel!"

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk by Angela G (Daughter of Resident)

  • "I enjoy my time in the gym, since joining my balance and overall fitness has greatly improved.
    Being with my friends, each encouraging each other to excel.
    We had a sponsored bike ride and I hadn't had so much fun in ages while raising money for a new bike.
    The staff are great and they always encourage you to surpass your goals."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Neither Unlikely or Likely

    Review submitted from a Postal Card by M B (Resident)

  • "We visited other care homes and thought "That's nice" (or not). We went to Belong and thought "We could be happy living here". I know that as my wife's dementia progresses she can be looked after in familiar surroundings with familiar people.

    There's a very lively atmosphere with areas open to the public and regular involvement from local schools. My wife is (relatively) young and is not ready to just sit in a seat and grow old, and I don't think anyone else there is. Our daughter thought it felt like upmarket student accommodation but tidier. There is a well-equipped fitness suite with an excellent instructor who makes sure everyone stays as mobile as possible.

    Daycare is called "Experience Days" with good reason. There is a full programme of real activities. For example, this week there has been a hands-on falconry demonstration. Like everyone else the Experience Day leaders are exceptional and have infinite patience. My wife enjoys every minute and comes back exhausted."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk by David H (Husband of Resident)

  • "My mother, who is 87 and has vascular and frontotemporal dementia, has never been a joiner-in. She was bored, angry and frustrated. We had suggested so many activities to her only to be firmly shot down. I was very impressed when I went to look around Belong as an option for permanent care and although I was told about their experience days I believed there was no way she would even try it but, she did go "just once" and she loved it. She now goes 5 times a week and it has changed not only her life but her family's too. She is well cared for and has all the activities and attention she could ever want. She looks forward to going and returns home tired but happy. I believe we will be able to keep her in her own home much longer now, although I can see the day coming when she asks to move into Belong."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted via Carehome.co.uk by N T (Daughter of Resident)

  • "Luckily, I only live five minutes away from Belong Crewe. I regularly go to the hairdressers. It is not too expensive and the ladies are excellent at their jobs and are always so patient and kind with any of the residents who have various problems. I regularly go for lunch - very good food and not too expensive.

    I and some friends enjoy playing scrabble with 2 of the residents. The activities are excellent eg. darts, keep fit, modelling, outside speakers, bingo, quizzes etc. There is a lovely garden with a water feature, raised beds, lovely plants and shrubs etc. I have visited many local homes and this is the best."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to Carehome.co.uk by J H (Resident)

  • "My mother has dementia and has been a resident here for 17 months. She is safe, happy and very well cared for in a 'home from home' environment. In her words, "I have a happy life". The staff are outstanding in the care they provide, they are like a second family to both me and my mother. The home is arranged in households of 10 residents - facilities, accommodation and food are all excellent and there is a great variety of activities on offer. My mother is valued, respected and treated with dignity - there are also plenty of laughter and genuine affection. Couldn't ask for more."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to Carehome.co.uk by Penny D (Daughter of Resident)

  • "Belong Crewe was an answer to a prayer when it came to finding a suitable place for Mum, where we knew she would be looked after by loving, caring staff, who go out of their way to make everything as smooth as possible. They are able to work around memory problems, concerned relatives who want the best for their loved ones, and more importantly, provide enrichment, suitable activities that would not just keep Mum occupied, but make her days fulfilling and fun. They are transparent so you can see exactly how they handle things and made the transition from a 3 bedroom house (lived in for forty years) to a 1 bedroom apartment as painless as possible. We feel secure that our Mum is in the best of places for her safety, a healthy lifestyle, and communication to be sure everything in the future will go smoothly. FIVE STARS!"

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Crewe? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to Carehome.co.uk by Susan B (Daughter of Resident)

  • "My temporary stay in Belong Crewe, the nursing and care home, was to determine whether I could manage on my own there, with the difficulties I had been experiencing in my own home, not only "old age" but ongoing "ill health". I was panic stricken and deeply worried that I had to take my son's advice that I needed help at 96 years of age as I was not likely to improve very much. Happily, during the past six weeks, my stay with the staff at Belong has been very good indeed and I hope to continue. I have been made so welcome, with life enjoyable again, due to their caring and devotion and I have been so comfortable in this beautiful home."

    Review submitted to Carehome.co.uk by Irene E (Resident)

  • I really like the way that the facility is structured and welcomes in people from the locality, thus blurring the edges between its being a care facility and a normal home. In addition, because of the design of the building and the way that it is divided into households, each one looks and feels like a much smaller entity. It certainly doesn't look like a building that cares for 60 plus residents. Even the length of the inevitable corridors is reduced by the design of the building.

    The households that I saw were very pleasant and those residents who could do so, responded to my greeting and comments. They seemed to be happy with their situation. I was further impressed by the provision of a number of additional facilities that the residents can use, even if it is with the assistance of a carer. Most of all, of course, it is those very carers who are the real asset for any care home and I was pleased to see the relationship that Caroline clearly has with those whom I met and theirs with the resident whose well-being they have in their hands.

    After all, I am about to consign my wife, Liz, to their care and I must be as certain as I can be that I am doing the right thing. This is not only important for Liz, although she is my most important consideration. However, I also need to be happy with my choice because I have to feel relaxed about someone else doing for Liz that which I should really be doing if I were able to.

    Liz's capabilities and her perceptions may mean that she will not get as much out of everything that has been incorporated into Belong as a more able person, but I am comfortable that I have made the right choice for her. Of course, only time will tell but, because of Liz's history of having worked in the School of Nursing for many years, a number of the people whom we know have a nursing background and are still involved in the care profession. Without exception, they have told me that they have heard only good things about Belong and they agree that it is the right place for Liz. As a result, my natural apprehensiveness over having to make this sort of choice and to take this decision on Liz's behalf, is much reduced.

    I am happy for you to use any of the foregoing in any way that you wish and I shall be happy to follow it up in a couple of month's time with what I expect to be further positive comments once Liz has begun to settle down in her new home.

    Kind regards.

    Roger Withenshaw

  • Yippee, Mum is home at last! Thanks to you and your staff for looking after her so well and giving her the confidence to spend lots of time with Dad again and venture back into the big wide world.

    Oddly, I think this unforeseen long stay has changed her and given her much more confidence.

    Your team are also making a real difference to the quality of life for my Father. My Dad has been transformed with the loving care that he receives at Belong.

    Mr Dave Perry

  • Moving my mum to Belong Crewe has been the best move for my mum in 30 years! She now has care, company, friendship and constant activities every day; we never see her anymore! Hehe! Amazing place.

    Mrs Kathy Cartwright