Wigan testimonials

We are continuously looking for ways to improve our services and we value our customers feedback; here are a selection of testimonials received:

  • My mother was a resident at Belong in Platt Bridge for 18 months or so, until her recent death. During her time at Belong, she was well looked after. But more than that, the care staff on Willow household demonstrated genuine care and affection for her. A care home needs to have a high standard of facilities and activities, and Belong Wigan does have those; but it lives or dies on the quality and capability of its care team. The team on Willow Household, who cared for Mum, were first class in my opinion. They are a bunch of dedicated people, who have a good sense of fun and empathy. As a relative, I always felt welcome and I will actually miss seeing them every week. In many ways, it felt like being part of an extended family which included the other household residents as well. We looked at a number of other care homes before choosing Belong - and it was very much the best we saw. Looking back on Mum's time there, Willow Household fully delivered on that promise.

    Review submitted on 4 April 2019 from a Website Submission to Carehome.co.uk by Ian C (Son of Resident). on Thursday 4 April 2019 . Relates to March 2019.

  • Choosing a care home for my grandma was an extremely difficult task. Belong Wigan were so accommodating to allow us to visit and look around their care home any time of the day. We immediately felt this was the right place. Everywhere was spotless and smelt fresh and clean, the staff were always maintaining all areas of Belong. All the staff were friendly, welcoming and very approachable.
    My grandma felt settled immediately and adapted to this life easily as the staff made her feel like they were a family. There was continuity for the residence with the staff so individual needs, help and comforts could all be met to the highest standards. Friends and relatives are welcome anytime to continue that welcoming feeling. The care received was outstanding, the staff always on hand be it medical needs or just some company. At all times staff were professional and safety and security was outstanding. They went far beyond our expectations and for that, we can’t thank Belong enough.

    Submitted to Carehome.co.uk by: Sarah F

  • From January 2018 to the end of October 2018, Mum has lived in five care homes, three of which are part of the Belong group. Mum has suffered a broken hip, pneumonia, had nine weeks in hospital and lost seven kilos. Mum has mixed dementia, challenging behaviour and is very confused especially with all the moves. I have been really worried and have desperately tried to find the right care home where Mums needs could be met. Finally, I have found the perfect place, Belong Wigan.
    The staff are a cohesive, extremely well trained, well led, enthusiastic, happy and caring team. They are simply amazing. It's a pleasure to visit Mum and see her living with purpose, helping in the kitchen, gardening, dancing, singing and happy. Since Mum's move to Belong Wigan six weeks ago. she has gained all the lost weight. She is genuinely cared for, treated with respect and dignity.
    A huge thank you to the outstanding home manager, admiral nurses and all the staff you are a real credit to the Belong organisation.

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Wigan? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to Carehome.co.uk on 31 October 2018 from a Website Submission by Krestyna B (Daughter of Resident). on Wednesday 31 October 2018 . Relates to October 2018.

  • Despite Dad only being in Belong and the Cedar household for a couple of months, we were overwhelmed by the care, support and attentiveness provided by the staff in these fantastic facilities. Dad had Alzheimer's disease and dementia but from the first day after his transfer from hospital, the staff made a positive impact on his life (and ours). We easily personalised his room to maintain an element of familiarity for him. He was so well looked after and we were made extremely welcome with many cups of tea and coffee. As Dad's time drew to a close, we were supported superbly well and were able to stay by his side, holding his hand.
    The manager has every reason to be proud of her team of carers in Cedar house. It’s very apparent that they clearly love what they do; their commitment to providing the residents with the very best care and a loving, family-style environment played a large part in our decision as a family to place Dad in their care.

    Review submitted to Carehome.co.uk by Ian F (Son of Resident)

  • "I would just like to say the staff on Beech are excellent in providing personal support and dignity given to my daughter and family at all times. It is like a home from home very welcoming by all the staff and nothing is too much trouble. All the staff give 150% at all times. We cannot thank the staff and nursing team enough their love, support and kindness towards myself and family."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Wigan? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk by Caroline C (Mother of Resident)

  • "I am deeply impressed and appreciative of the nursing and care given to my wife under her difficult and trying condition over the past eight months in Belong House, Belong, Wigan.
    Being in Belong is making it easier for me to cope with these circumstances. I have a good and friendly relationship with the staff in Beech House.
    They are a pleasure to be with and I enjoy trying to assist them in any way possible in the wonderful job they are doing."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong Wigan? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to carehome.co.uk by Allan B (Husband of Resident)

  • "My mum came to live with us in Wigan after being in hospital for some weeks. We were allocated Belong at Home Wigan for 6 weeks then we could choose another company if we wished to.
    Myself and my mum were so pleased with the carers who came that we chose to continue with Belong at Home.
    The carers are like friends to my mum and they treat her with so much friendliness, professional personal care and dignity.
    My mum is now used to her regular carers and we certainly wouldn't change the company now as we are completely happy with the service we get.

    We would certainly recommend Belong at Home to anyone."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong at Home Wigan? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to homcare.co.uk by C M (Daughter of Client)

  • "My mum came to live with us in Wigan after being in hospital for some weeks. We were allocated Belong at Home Wigan for 6 weeks then we could choose another company if we wished to.
    Myself and my mum were so pleased with the carers who came that we chose to continue with Belong at Home.
    The carers are like friends to my mum and they treat her with so much friendliness, professional personal care and dignity.
    My mum is now used to her regular carers and we certainly wouldn't change the company now as we are completely happy with the service we get.

    We would certainly recommend Belong at Home to anyone."

     

    How likely would you be to recommend Belong at Home Wigan? Extremely Likely

    Review submitted to homecare.co.uk by C M (Daughter of Client)

  • I am approaching my 1 year anniversary living in my lovely new apartment at Belong Wigan. I have lived in Platt Bridge most of my life but began to find living at home increasingly difficult. Since moving to Belong Wigan and I have found everything about the village to be exemplary, it really suits my needs. All the staff are very friendly and quick to attend to my needs, they clearly have my interests at heart.

    I am able to socialise with friends and use the facilities which aren’t otherwise available locally. I am not disturbed in my apartment but enjoy living close to the village amenities.

    I am totally convinced that my on-going quality of life has been improved by my move to Belong Wigan, I would recommend it to anyone!

    Margaret Oldfield

  • I recently visited Belong Wigan and from the moment I entered the building I was extremely impressed with the welcome I received. I was treated like a VIP!!

    The staff were so helpful and in particular the General Manager Mrs Menguy displayed a high standard of knowledge and professionalism, she explained about the options open to me from day care support through to full care facilities. I was never pressurised into signing for anything as I have been in other homes that I have visited. The facilities you offer are what can only be described as 1st Class.
     
    It is with delight that I read in the local press that Belong Atherton have acquired a marriage licence in order to accommodate a wedding of the daughter of a resident that...had they not... the Mother would have been unable to attend . This is an exceptional show of the commitment of BELONG towards their residents ...My commendations to the Managers and staff of both Wigan and Atherton villages.
     
     Should my circumstances dictate that my Aunt will need support in the future, I will be accessing BELONG without hesitation and with great delight.

    Yours sincerely

    Mrs Pimblett